What My Coffee Taught Me About Leadership This Morning

As I was drinking my morning coffee today the cleverly written jingle ran through my head.
“The best part of waking up is Folgers in your cup!”
My first thought was, Folgers is disgusting!
My second thought was, whatever the kind of coffee in my cup it does my NO GOOD when its in my cup! Sure it smells good and looks amazing but it does nothing to help the 6am cob-webs when it stays only in my cup!

In regards to leadership I think morning coffee can teach us something. All the leadership quotes, strategies, and principles do you and me know good when they simply stay in a journal, minds, or our imaginary “leadership cup”. Sure it sounds good to quote great leaders and have a library full of renown authors. But when leadership philosophy stays in our cups and never makes its way into our every day life we become people with great leadership ideas but remain poor leaders.

One thought on “What My Coffee Taught Me About Leadership This Morning

  1. Well said Cody. Also challenging :$

Leave a Reply

